Top 3 Football Teams To Win The Most Trophies Throughout World Cup Seasons

FIFA World Cup trophy is a top award that every football team desires. Today, let’s explore which teams achieved the most trophies in the history of the World Cup. 

The World Cup, which was held every four years for all national teams coming from FIFA member countries, is the largest football tournament in the world. 

The trophy of this competition is regarded as the most prestigious award that all the participating teams desire to hold. 

Throughout the history of the World Cup, there are a lot of teams achieving this award several times while some others are not lucky enough to have it.

In the article today, we would like to show a list of top-ranking football teams that have held the most World Cup trophies. 

Check out to view live football for the World Cup season. 

Brazil with five trophies

The land of Samba has joined all the World Cup seasons and gained considerable achievements till now. 

Brazil has become the champion of the World Cup five times, particularly in the years of 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002 while keeping the runner-up position in 1950 and 1998.

The first time Brazil achieved this top-level award was in 1958 after defeating the home team – Sweden with a score of 5-2 in the final.

 Football Teams
Brazilian football team in 1958. Source

In the 1962 World Cup, Brazil continued to compete excellently to reach the final. Winning 3-1 in competition with Czechoslovakia, this powerful team picked up the cup for the second time.  

1970 was a sweet year for Brazil supporters when ‘Selecao” received the trophy once again after the 4-1 victory against Italy in the final. 

From 1958 to 1970 can be seen as the most glorious period of Brazilian football with the participation of the legend Pele.  

After this sparkling stage, Brazil had to wait for success for 24 years before getting the 4th trophy in 1994 in the United States. That year, Brazil again met and won Italy after a penalty shoot-out.

 Football Teams
Brazilian football team in the 1994 World Cup. Source  

Eight years later, the World Cup was first held in Japan and  South Korea. It was also a successful tournament of Brazil when they were crowned champion after winning over Germany in the final.

Germany with four trophies

As for the number of gold cups throughout World Cup seasons, Germany is ranked second. Mannschaft also has played the most finals, but only half of them took this team to golden trophies.

The 1954 World Cup in Switzerland was the first time Germany won the World Cup. After the brilliant performance in the final, the surprising 3-2 victory against Hungary helped Germany to gain the championship trophy that year.

Two decades later, Germany fought the Netherlands for the world championship right at home. With indomitable spirits, Mannschaft notched up a convincing victory. 

The 1974 tournament also gave the legend Franz Beckenbauer a chance to get the title of FIFA World Player of the Year.

 Football Teams
Germany football team in the  1974 World Cup. Source

1990 was the last time of the 20th century Germany enjoyed spectacular success in the World Cup tournament. Having played Argentina in the final, Germany scored only one goal that was enough to become the owner of the 1990 trophy. 

Entering the 21st century, in 2014, Argentina was also defeated by Germany with a score of 1-0. Germany officially became the world’s most dominant team for the fourth time. 

Another impressive result of Mannschaft in 2014 was the unbelievable 7-1 victory against Brazil in the semi-final while their worthy opponent played at home.

Italy with four trophies

Holding the same number of gold cups as Germany along with two runner-up positions in 1970 and 1994, Italy ranks third in this list, after Brazil and Germany. 

At the early stage of the World Cup tournament, the blue team gained two consecutive world trophies in 1934 and 1938. At that time, the competition rules were quite simple.

In Italy, the final match in 1934 witnessed the team’s victory against Czechoslovakia with a score of 2-1. 

Four years later, after having made four eye-catching goals into Hungary’s net, Italy had a win with the final score of 4-2. 

These two early victories came under the leadership of Vittorio Pozzo. As a coach, This football legend also became the first and the only one to win the World Cup twice. 

 Football Teams
Italian football team in the 2006 World Cup. Source

44 years later, the third victory again came to Italy. It was the 1982 World Cup in Spain when Italy beat West Germany 3-1 in the final. 

The World Cup in 2006 was hosted by Germany. In this season, the Azzurri had defeated the home team in the semi-final before winning against France on a penalty shoot-out and held the fourth championship.

For the final word,

Football competitions always bring unforgettable moments to fans all over the world through every match, and we cannot forget to mention The World Cup. You are crazy about football? You are excited about the performance of the top-level teams mentioned above? Visit the site and watch recent football matches worldwide.  

In this article, we just list three of eight teams that have ever won the World Cup. Besides, other champions should be included here are Argentina, France, Uruguay, England, and Spain.     

Apart from these names, are there any new ones achieving the champion in the coming World Cup seasons? Please wait to see the result.                                                                                                                                                                              

Thanks for seeing our article. If you want to make any contributions, please leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *